Indian T20 League: The Journey till Now

Cricket has been an essential part of a true sports fan’s life and with one of the most-fancy leagues, the Indian T20 League on offer, things just get better to best. Indian T20 League has managed to keep the fans fraternity glued to their TV screens for a whole 11-years now. Known as one of the costliest and glamorous affairs, the Indian T20 League is all set to enter the 12th season this year.

The COVID-19 outbreak pushed the mega event in the second half of the year following the whole sports industry was stuck as the cricket stopped for an indefinite time. After heavy speculations over the event regarding the hosting nation and sponsorships, BCCI finally gave a node to UAE to host the 12th edition of the tournament. The world’s most popular league is now starting from September 19 and all the players including the overseas players and staff have reached on time to participate in the event.

There are a total of 8 Indian T20 League teams, representing different cities of India, competing against each other in the tournament. The teams are owned by many popular Bollywood celebrities, industrialists and other big names of the corporate world. As the Indian T20 League approaches, let’s take a look back at all the 8 franchises and the winners of the past 11 years.

Play NOW

  • 15M+Downloads


  • 5cr+Winnings Everyday

  • 100+Contests Everyday

Indian T20 League Teams

There are a total of 8 teams, representing different cities of India, competing against each other in the tournament. The teams are owned by many popular Bollywood celebrities, industrialists and other big names of the biz world.

  • MS Dhoni



    M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

    The MS Dhoni-led team is considered to be one of the strongest teams in the Indian T20 League. The team has won 3 Indian T20 League titles, courtesy to all the big names in the team. The team was allegedly banned from participating in the tournament during 2016 & 2017 over charges of match-fixing but came back with a bang in the year 2018.

    2010, 2011, 2018
  • S Iyer



    Feroz Shah Kotla Ground

    Previously known as Delhi Dare, the team recently became Delhi, representing the capital of India. The team has made it to the semi-finals twice and ended up their game as the 3rd placed team twice.

  • K.L. Rahul



    IS Bindra Stadium

    Owned by the dimple queen of Bollywood, actress Preity Zinta and 3 more partners, Punjab is one of the 8 franchises. The team’s performance has failed to impress the viewers, and they were made to settle among the bottom fours for most of the time. In 2014, they made into the final which is the best performance of them in Indian T20 League so far.

  • D Karthik



    Eden Gardens

    A franchise owned by the popular Bollywood actor Shahrukh Khan, represents the city of joy, Kolkata. They have managed to entertain the viewers throughout the years while managing to bag the title twice in 2012 and 2014 under Gautam Gambhir.

    2012, 2014
  • R Sharma



    Wankhede Stadium

    The 4-time champions know how to get the most of their skills. Led by Rohit Sharma, the team is known for amazing performances and the owners. The franchise is owned by Reliance Industries Limited (RIL).

    2013, 2015, 2017, 2019
  • S Smith



    Sawai Mansingh Stadium

    Owner by Manoj Badale, the team representing the Pink City, Jaipur, become the inaugural winners of the tournament. They won the first ever Indian T20 League title under the captainship of Shane Warne.

  • V Kohli



    M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

    The team with the likes of Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, etc., the team has been quite unlucky in all the seasons. Despite having numerous big players in the squad, Bangalore has never won any Indian T20 League title in the last 11 years. They have appeared in three Indian T20 League finals 2009, 2011 and 2016 but went to lose the title.

  • K. Williamson



    Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium

    Hyderabad, the team that was founded in the year 2013. However, the Sun TV Network owned franchise has managed to grab the attention of the viewers since its inception. They even won the Indian T20 League title in the year 2016 and in 2018, they finished as the runner-up side.

Winners of Indian T20 League: 2008 – 2019


Make sure you create the best team with just the right players. Stay updated with latest cricket news, injury updates, Indian T20 League match predictions and much more. Read the latest Indian T20 League news below:


{{blog.created | date:'dd MMM yyyy'}}

Download Now